Heisman Watch 2019: Joe Burrow Unanimously Favored to Win Trophy

Heisman Watch for the 2019 college football season is in full swing as the final full month of the season winds down. Throughout a majority of the year, the same handful of candidates have been in the running for the most prestigious award in the sport, and that hasn’t changed as we prepare to enter Week 12.

In the latest poll of ESPN experts, LSU star quarterback Joe Burrow checked in as the unanimous pick to take home the award at the end of the season.

“If there was any doubt about Burrow’s status as the favorite going into last weekend, it was laid to rest on Saturday. The Tigers’ star QB threw for 393 yards and three TDs in LSU’s win over Bama, its first over the Tide since 2011. Burrow, who was carried off the field on his teammates’ shoulders, also rushed for 64 yards,” the ESPN article read.

Jalen Hurts of Oklahoma and Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa round out the top three.

If Burrows can continue to keep the Tigers offense rolling and finish off the season with an SEC Championship and playoff berth, you can pencil him in as the clear winner. Burrows is currently listed as a -700 favorite to win the Heisman at Caesar’s Sportsbook.

The top five candidates for the Heisman Trophy according to ESPN’s 10-person panel are:

  1. Joe Burow – QB, Louisiana State
  2. Jalen Hurts – QB, Oklahoma
  3. Tua Tagovailoa – QB, Alabama
  4. Justin Fields – QB, Ohio State
  5. Chase Young – DE, Ohio State

Up next for the top-ranked Tigers is a meeting with the Ole Miss Rebels on Saturday, November 16. Kickoff at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium is set for 7:00 p.m. ET on ESPN. The complete AP Top 25 poll for Week 12 can be seen below, while the updated College Football Playoff Rankings will drop on Tuesday, November 12 at 7:00 p.m. ET.

AP Top 25 College Football Rankings — Week 12


  1. LSU
  2. Ohio State
  3. Clemson
  4. Alabama
  5. Georgia
  6. Oregon
  7. Minnesota
  8. Utah
  9. Penn State
  10. Oklahoma
  11. Florida
  12. Baylor
  13. Auburn
  14. Michigan
  15. Wisconsin
  16. Notre Dame
  17. Cincinnati
  18. Memphis
  19. Boise State
  20. SMU
  21. Navy
  22. Texas
  23. Iowa
  24. Indiana
  25. Oklahoma State

Others receiving votes: Appalachian State 73, Kansas State 67, Texas A&M 42, Wake Forest 38, Louisiana Tech 25, Virginia 12, San Diego State 7, Iowa State 4, Virginia Tech 4, Washington 3, Pittsburgh 2, UCF 2, Air Force 2, USC 1, Illinois 1

LOOK: Utah Football’s 150th Anniversary Uniform Photos
LOOK: Utah Football’s 150th Anniversary Uniform Photos
  • 10678531520930918