magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

2014 MLB Home Run Derby Participants Announced


Los Angeles Dodgers v Toronto Blue Jays

One of the highlights of Major League Baseball’s All-Star Week is the Home Run Derby and on Tuesday, eight of this year’s competitors were announced. Jose Bautista, Yoenis Cespedes, Brian Dozier and Adam Jones will represent the American League. Troy Tulowitzki, Todd Frazier, Yasiel Puig and Giancarlo Stanton will swing for the National League. There will be one more for each side announced later on. [Photo by Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images]

There are many great players not in the competition like Nelson Cruz and Jose Abreu but this is shaping up to be a great power display in Minneapolis. Cespedes won last season. Dozier will be the hometown guy from the Twins while Tulowitzki and Stanton will each bring huge power. The key will be who the final players are for the competition.

That could easily swing which side wins the Derby. Right now though, it would appear that both sides are very evenly-matched. Monday night will allow fans to see 450-foot home runs out of players like Stanton and Bautista and that is why the event is all about anyway.

COED Writer
Freelance Sports Writer @google+ @website