magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

New Year’s Eve 2017: TV Channels, Hosts and Performers

(Photo by Theo Wargo/Getty Images)

(Photo by Theo Wargo/Getty Images)

The countdown to 2017 is on, and you have several television channels to choose from tonight for New Year’s Eve Tonight.

If you’re looking for a classic network broadcast from Times Square in New York City there’s ABC’s annual Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve hosted by Ryan Seacrest and NBC’s New Year’s Eve with Carson Daly to choose from. If you’re in the mood for something a little more irreverent, CNN’s New Year’s Eve Live with Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin every year provides numerous funny moments. And if you’re not a fan of the scene from the Big Apple then Pitbull’s New Year’s Revolution, which emanates live from Mr. Worldwide’s hometown of Miami, is back on Fox for the third consecutive year.

Below are all the details of each channel’s broadcast so you know which one to tune into before the clock strikes midnight.

Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve on ABC

While Dick Clark is no longer with us, he’ll live on forever in the name of this famed ABC broadcast that is is now hosted annually by Ryan Seacrest. Jenny McCarthy will join the American Idol host in New York City, while Fergie anchors coverage in Los Angeles.

Coverage goes from 8 to 11 EST before a half hour of local programming. Then it will resume from 11:30 all the way to 2 a.m.

Mariah Carey headlines and will be performing just before midnight in New York City. She will be joined in Times Square by DNCE, Gloria Estefan and the cast of her musical On Your Feet!, and Thomas Rhett.

Meanwhile,  Alessia Cara, Fifth Harmony, Flo Rida and Macy Kate, G-Eazy, Lukas Graham, Niall Horan, Martin Garrix, John Legend, Shawn Mendes, Mike Posner, Bebe Rexha, Emeli Sandé and Hailee Steinfeld are the announced performers for the Billboard Hollywood Party segments.

The special will also feature a performance by Demi Lovato from Sint Maarten, and by Lionel Richie from Las Vegas.

Plus for the first year ever the broadcast will include coverage of festivities from New Orleans hosted by Lucy Hale, featuring performances by Jason Derulo and Panic at the Disco following tonight’s Sugar Bowl game, and then Jackson Square’s fleur-de-lis drop at midnight Central Time.

NBC New Year’s Eve with Carson Daly

 (Photo by Brad Barket/Getty Images)

(Photo by Brad Barket/Getty Images)

Carson Daly has been the NBC New Year’s Eve host since 2003-2004 and the former TRL host is back for another new year.

In contrast to ABC’s all-night coverage, New Year’s Eve with Carson Daly will only run from 11:30 to 12:30.

Mel B of the Spice Girls will be Daly’s co-host in Times Square, and Alicia Keys, Blake Shelton, and Pentatonix are scheduled to perform.

New Year’s Eve Live with Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin on CNN

(Photo by Nicholas Hunt/Getty Images)

(Photo by Nicholas Hunt/Getty Images)

Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin return at the helm of CNN’s coverage of New Year’s Eve for the tenth straight year. As usual, Griffin is a sure bet to say and do some outlandish things that make her straight-laced co-host squirm.

Cooper and Griffin’s coverage live from Times Square begins at 8 and will go on live until 12:30, when Don Lemon and Brooke Baldwin take over as hosts for the coverage of the central time zone countdown.

Keith Urban is the only performer scheduled, with CNN taking a less music-centric approach to the network broadcasts.

Supporting reporters include  Lemon and Baldwin (New Orleans); Richard Quest (Time Square street level); Sara Sidner (Nashville); Gary Tuchman (Miami); Randi Kaye (cruise ship) and Lynn Smith (Dallas).

Pitbull’s New Year’s Revolution goes down from 11-12:30 on Fox. In addition to Pitbull himself, Queen Latifah and Snoop Dogg serve as co-hosts.

Unlike the other networks stationed in the traditional New Year’s Eve setting of New York City, Pitbull’s New Year’s party is set in Miami’s Bayfront Park.

Hip-hop artists are the flavor of this party. Nelly, Biz Markie, Salt-N-Pepa, Coolio, Tone Loc, Rob Base, Young MC, and Naughty By Nature are the scheduled performers.



COED Writer
New York-based writer. Emory University graduate. @BrianFeibus on Twitter. Infinitely go against the grain.