The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame New Inductees Are… [VIDEOS]

Who made it into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland this year? KISS. Finally–and, also, Nirvana, Daryl Hall & John Oates, Peter Gabriel (as a solo artist, with his old band Genesis having been inducted in 2010), singer Linda Ronstadt, and Cat Stevens, The acts will officially be inducted into the Hall of Fame on April 10, 2014–with a special live show at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. As usual, HBO will then air a special live broadcast of the concert and ceremony the following May.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame also announced honors for legendary rock ‘n roll managers Andrew Loog Oldham and Brian Epstein. There’s also a special award for Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band in tribute to “musical excellence.”

If you’re a big Nirvana fan who’s outraged that it’s taken so long for the band to be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame–well, relax, because Nirvana just earned their eligibility for induction. According to the Hall of Fame’s bylaws, a band or musician isn’t eligible to join the Hall of Fame until 25 years after their first release. Nirvana made it in pretty quickly, considering that 2014 will mark the band’s 25th anniversary.

Anyway, here are some musical highlights, in case you need to be reminded why these folks ever got in. Hey, we’re going with some offbeat videos, too, so maybe you’ll get turned on to something new…


Daryl Hall & John Oates

Linda Ronstadt

Peter Gabriel

Cat Stevens


  • 10678531520930918