|

Gamescom 2017 Schedule & Dates: Must-See Lineup At Gamescom

The summer convention season is grinding down to a halt, but what better way to go out than with Germany’s own, Gamescom 2017. Known to most as the largest video game convention in the world, Gamescom brings together the gaming community for four days in a gaming oasis.

Packed to the brim with industry veterans, rabid game fans and brand new and exciting games; Gamescom will be bringing all the hottest new games to you. Whether you’re a die hard Microsoft fan or the most casual Nintendo player; Gamescom will be showing off the hottest and biggest games for the next year to come.

It is worth noting that Sony will not be holding a live show at Gamescom.

Name: Gamescom 2017
Press Dates  August 22nd – August 26th, 2017 (for press)
Public Dates: August 23rd – August 26th, 2017 (for everyone)
Where: Koelnmesse Exhibition Center, Cologne, Germany


Gamescom 2017 Press Conference Times:

Sunday, August 20th

Microsoft Live Show

When: 3:00 PM ET, 12:00 PM PDT

Microsoft

After the somewhat underwhelming show they had planned for E3 2017, this is Microsoft’s time to take the spotlight and keep it on the Xbox One X. There still is no word on what exactly this live show will entail but if past years have been any indicator expect to see new game announcements, more info on the Xbox One X and maybe we’ll see a round of the console version of PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (and get a release date). The event will be streamed through Xbox’s official Mixer channel.

Monday, August 21st

EA Live Show

When: 12:30 ET, 9:30 AM PDT

Electronic Arts

EA will be sure to bring us all new announcements from some of their hottest upcoming titles including: Star Wars: Battlefront 2, FIFA 18, and maybe a new game announcement. Expect live on stage demos and maybe an e-sports match or two, but no matter what EA will be bringing the games.


Wednesday, August 23rd

Nintendo Presents Super Mario Odyssey

When: 9:00 AM ET, 6:00 AM PDT

Nintendo

Instead of putting on a huge live show packed with short announcements, Nintendo in recent years has decided to forgo that approach by making livestreams dedicated to one of their upcoming games. This Super Mario Odyssey direct will definitely show off new gameplay featuring everyone’s favorite Italian plumber, Mario and his new friend (that allows him to possess enemies) Cappy! Featured on the stream will be executive producer of the game, Yoshiaki Koizumi.

Nintendo Switch owners, keep your eyes peeled as Nintendo may announce more titles during this stream.


Thursday, August 24th

Nintendo Presents Metroid: Samus Returns

When: 6:00 AM ET, 3:00 AM PDT

Nintendo

Samus finally returns to Nintendo hardware after a long, very missed absence and Nintendo has been pulling out the stops to make sure her return is a rejoiced and praised one. Dedicating this entire stream to the new Metroid: Samus Returns for Nintendo 3DS, Metroid fans can rest easy as their favorite intergalactic bounty hunter is given a difficult and rewarding game.

  • Tom MeganCOED Writer
    A native New Yorker with a passion for tech and gaming with his eyes set on trying to one day direct a Marvel blockbuster (preferably Spider-Man). Follow him on Twitter @tom_megan19 for daily virtual eye rolls to the internet at large.
    Comments