|

What The Hell Is A Supermoon And Why Should You Care?

Supermoon

GettyImages

What is a Supermoon?

The wait for the supermoon is almost over! If you are anything like me and missed the last astronomical event, then you won’t want to miss this one. By now you are probably asking yourself, ‘Well what is a supermoon, anyway?’ Well, I can guarantee you this is no Marvel comic, and unfortunately, there are no superpowers waiting to axle towards us, but what I can tell you is that this considerably sized moon is solely based on science and astrology. Basically, when a new or full moon closely approaches Perigee, which is the point at which the Moon is closest in its orbit to the Earth, the lunar perigee with the Sun and the Earth align. Approximately, this causes a supermoon to be in effect every 14th full moon. Pretty sweet, huh? Even though these recurring appearances have no set expiration date, it’s recorded that this is the closest supermoon since January 26, 1948! It’ll be another 18 years until the moon even comes this close to Earth again, so you definitely want to be sure NOT to miss this one.


Supermoon 2016 Viewing Details:

Date: Monday, November 14, 2016
Time: 9:52 A.M. AST / 8:52 a.m. EST / 7:52 A.M. CST / 6:52 A.M. MST / 5:52 A.M. PST.
Location: Anywhere.
Main Event: The 2016 Supermoon, of course!


The November Supermoon Date & Time Details:

The Supermoon is set for the early hours of Monday morning, November 14, 2016. It is going to begin at 8:52 A.M., EST, it must be seen live with your very own spectacles! Photo and video coverage do not do this beauty justice. Don’t believe me? See it for yourself!

LOS ANGELES, CA - SEPTEMBER 27: An eclipsed supermoon is shown on September 27, 2015 in Los Angeles, California. A supermoon occurs when a full moon coincides with its perigee, which is its closest approach to the Earth. A total lunar eclipse and a supermoon won't occur together again until 2033. (Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images)

GettyImages


Location:

Anywhere, as long as you wake up for it, you are golden! Just make sure you are in plain view of the brightest and largest supermoon in 68 years! Sidenote: make sure you are not near the horizon, because due to a perceptional phenomenon, the Moon always looks unnaturally larger from that standpoint.

GettyImages

GettyImages

So, there you have it, all the information on the November 2016 supermoon. If you miss it now, you have a long 18 years worth of regret to look forward to.

Comments
  • You Might Like