A student at West Chester University in Pennsylvania who made an unbelievable half court shot during a halftime contest won’t get the $10,000 he was promised.
Jack Lavery got the once in a lifetime chance to sink four baskets for a $10,000 check at a home game over the weekend. He drained three consecutive shots located in the paint, at the free throw line and from the top of the arc but he missed his first attempt at the half court line. He had 25 seconds to complete all four baskets and he nailed a perfect, half court shot with a buzzer beater that could make a first-string, Final Four competitor jealous. The whole event was documented by a fan in the stands on his cell phone camera and it appears that he gets the shot off just in time.
The university, however, doesn’t see it that way. They don’t deny that he made in the shot in time–but they aren’t giving him the prize because he didn’t make the half court shot on his first attempt. If there was a “first shot rule” in effect, then why would they need a countdown clock? He could just take all the time he needed to hurl that mighty sphere at the backboard and hope it hit the bottom of the net. They are clearly just trying to worm their way out of having to cough up the $10,000 like they promised.
Something tells us that if Jack Lavery had scored with his first shot from the half court, then West Chester University would still find some underhanded way to avoid paying him by claiming that half court is actually measured from behind the basket or he committed some kind of back court violation before he shot it.